GWQ SC provides support for refugee girls through the following programs:
• 4 bursaries each year to exiting refugee girls from Milpera State High School ($250 each).
• Hosting 2 refugee girls (from Yeronga SHS) during the January, June/July and September school holidays.
• The girls attend Lexis English Language School (tuition provided free) and enjoy a holiday with the branch members.

Refugee Education Project (REP)

Yvonne Koster, Fatima Hussaimi and Janet Sweatman

Members Yvonne Koster and Janet Sweatman present Fatima Hussaimi with a $250 bursary at the March 2018 Exit Parade at Milpera. The school described Fatima as “an excellent student who has a strong desire to learn and always does her best, is respectful, helpful and considerate of others, shows great resilience and makes the most of all opportunities provided - the quintessential quiet achiever”.

Gail Ker OAM, CEO Access Community Services presenting the Access Community Services Cultural Diversity Award to Marilyn Keelty, Chair Refugee Education Program, Graduate Women Queensland Sunshine Coast Branch.

Congratulations to our Refugee Education Program (founded by Marilyn Keelty) in winning the Access Community Services Cultural Diversity Award; and a special thank you to Gretchen Keelty who prepared the nomination and the display folder. REP received $2,500 courtesy of Commonwealth Bank, and a magnificent trophy.

GWQ Sunshine Coast branch won this prestigious Access Community Services Cultural Diversity Award at the 2017 Community Achievement Awards, from a strong field of nominees. The announcement took place at a gala event on Saturday 18th November at the Royal on the Park, Brisbane; and was one of eight category winners announced. The awards were hosted by Kendall Gilding, 7 News Presenter, and included official guests the Hon Dr Anthony Lynham MP, Minister for State Development and Minister for Natural Resources and Mines.

The award was further acknowledge at the December Exit Parade at Milpera SHS which, along with Yeronga SHS, are partners in the success of REP.

Yvonne Koster, Lois Bateman, Julie Peel (Deputy Principal Milpera SHS), Marilyn Keelty, Jan Dopson, Jessica Walker (Deputy Principal Yeronga SHS).

Julie Peel (Deputy Principal Milpera SHS) presenting bouquet Marilyn Keelty (Chair REP) holding the award Maryam Saqat from Iraq (Bursary Winner) Adele Rice AM (Founding Principal Milpera SHS) Terry Heath (Principal Yeronga SHS)


Sruthi and Nasteho, students from Yeronga SHS, visiting the Sunshine Coast in January 2018

Refugee Students 2017

Acting Refugee Co-ordinator Marilyn Keelty with our two Refugee Students Mojgan Shamsalipoor and Zahra Karami with Deputy Principal Jessica Walker.

Refugee Students 2016

Our two Refugee Students visiting the Sunshine Coast in 2016 - Euginia from Togo and Martine from Liberia.

Our two Refugee Students, Euginia and Martine, with hosts/members Jenny Hughes and Coral Usher

Hosting January 2015

REP coordinator Davinia Nieper hosting Matina and Glodiya in January 2015